Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

Thinking about Writing a Different Kind of Celiac Book– Gauging Interest October 3, 2014

Filed under: Everyday Living with Celiac Disease — Michelle @ 9:46 pm
Tags: , ,

Before I dive into this blog post, I want to give you a quick follow up on my health issue.  I came back from Mayo with a little uncertainty.  However, after all my tests were done and the Mayo team consulted, it appears I was having a serious, rare side effect with one of my Lupus medications– Plaquenil.  It has caused a eosinophilic disease (white blood cell) resulting in abdominal pain and inability to eat.  I lost close to 20 pounds in 2 months.  So, I discontinued it and after a few weeks, my eosinophils are back to normal.  I’ve stopped loosing weight and I’m starting to eat a little more.  Yeah!!!

 

So, now on to my blog post… Being a Celiac is more than a diet-controlled disease.  When Celiac involves the family (like my 2 Celiac daughters), it’s a lifestyle.  I’ve come across my share of Celiac peers and I really think we have our own culture. With kids, we have to address Celiac in schools and with friends. As a professional, I’m always thinking about what I can eat and drink at lunch meetings, after work happy hour meetings, conferences, business trips, etc.  There is never a day when we don’t have “gluten-free” or Celiac in mind.

 

I love food and I love to cook. I’ve been toying with the idea of writing a book about living with Celiac.  It would be a cookbook and a basic guide of how to manage Celiac Disease.  It would also address the everyday issues of Celiac, such as working with schools and preparing lunches.  But, I think the market is a little saturated with Celiac cookbooks.  So, I was thinking of something different.

 

Last year, my husband and I spent 10 days in Germany and Austria. I love learning about other cultures! It made me start thinking about what Celiac life is like in other countries.  Is there a Celiac “culture” that is common in different countries? I’m interested in your feedback on this theme for a book.  If I pursue this, I’ll go to Kickstarter with a plan and seek funding to support this project.

 

2 Responses to “Thinking about Writing a Different Kind of Celiac Book– Gauging Interest”

  1. I had exactly the same effect from the same medication for the same diagnosis. Lupus diagnosis later was not confirmed, but my digestive system was ruined. it took 2 years before coeliac diagnosis and 7 years after to restore, though not fully, my ability to digest certain foods, actually most of them.

    • Michelle Says:

      Wow. It turns out that I probably don’t have Lupus. I hope you recover. It’s been a challenging process. I wish you the best!


Leave a Reply

