Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

Breaking News– The Gluten Free Girl Scout Cookie!! September 18, 2013

Ok, as some of you may know, I’ve been involved with Girl Scouts for a very long time.  I’m now the troop leader for my daughters’ troop and I’m also Service Unit Director in my county.  When people think about Girl Scouts, they are thinking cookies!  Growing up, I loved Girl Scout Cookies!!!  My favorites were the Tagalongs (peanut butter patties) and the Samoas (Caramel DeLites).  Since my Celiac diagnosis, I obviously haven’t had Girl Scout cookies in a very long time.  My daughter Meghan was diagnosed last year and so she remembers what they taste like and she really missed them this past cookie season.  However, my youngest, Kaitlyn, has never had a Girl Scout cookie 😦  Needless to say, while many girl scouts around the country look forward to cookie sales, my daughters (and myself) have not.  Last year, my girls were not motivated to sell them because they cannot eat them.  When a customer asks, “what’s your favorite cookie,” it’s sad to hear my girls’ response, “I can’t eat them.” Or, in Kaitlyn’s case, “I’ve never had a Girl Scout cookie.”

 

Well, Kaitlyn may very well have her first Girl Scout cookie this year!!!  However, there is a preface… ABC bakers (one of two Girl Scout cookie manufacturers) is pilot testing the Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookie in certain markets in the country.  The other manufacturer, Little Brownie Bakers, have not come out with a gluten free Girl Scout cookie product.

 

My troop is part of the Girl Scouts of Greater Atlanta Council.  I’m really hoping that our Council contracts with ABC Bakers for our Girl Scout Cookies!!!!!!!!  Stay tuned!

 

For more information about the new cookie, check out http://www.abcsmartcookies.com/gluten-free-chocolate-chip-shortbread

 

There is a petition out in the community encouraging Girl Scouts to produce a gluten free cookie.  If your Council doesn’t offer it, you can go online and sign the petition.  http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/81658-please-sign-this-petition-for-gluten-free-girl-scout-cookies/

 

 

One Response to “Breaking News– The Gluten Free Girl Scout Cookie!!”

  1. gfandme Says:

    Awesome news! Thanks


Leave a Reply

