Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

It’s been a while– sorry for the absence September 18, 2012

Well, it’s been a while since I last posted.  Many apologies for my absence!!!!!!  What have I been doing the last few months???!!!  Well, my family has been busy with summer activities and the start of a new school year.  I tried new restaurants- some with good experiences and unfortunately, some with poor experiences.  The family went camping sans gluten– fun experience!  However, the biggest news, and one that prompted me to write again on my blog, is to share with that my other daughter was recently diagnosed with Celiac disease.  Not fun!  Ugh!! My horrible genes are now with another generation!!!!    Fortunately, we keep a gluten free diet at home.  So, the biggest change will be when she is not home– school, friends’ homes, extracurricular activities, etc.

Meghan is 9 years-old and mature for her age.  We had her tested last week, mainly to have a peace of mind- either yes or no.  Meghan has not grown in two years.  When she was once around the 50-60th percentile in height, she is now less than the 10th percentile.  This prompted my curiosity to whether or not she had Celiac.  She really has no other symptoms of the disease.

We took her to the pediatrician last week and had her draw blood for a celiac panel.  Meghan was so brave and did not cry when she had her blood drawn.  After 3 days, the celiac panel tested positive for Celiac disease.  We will be seeing a pediatric gastroenterologist. Since I and my younger daughter have it, we know exactly what to do to manage it.  I do not plan to have a biopsy done.  With a strong family history, her short stature, and a positive panel, why go through an invasive procedure?!

Meghan was fully aware of the possibility of having the disease.  She’s seen what the disease has done for her little sister and to me.  She has been such a big help for her little sister.  Meghan reads nutrition labels and knows what exactly to look for. She has “rescued” her little sister from consuming gluten many times when I wasn’t around– mainly in childcare and summer camps.  So, when I did tell her she has Celiac, her response was, “Ok, so now, I just have to eat gluten free all the time.”  She wasn’t surprised or upset, instead, rather nonchalent.

So my next step, developing a Health Plan for her school.  Similiar to what we’ve done with Kaitlyn, but now for Meghan.  We have this scheduled for Thursday.  So, I’ll keep you posted on how that goes.

I’m pretty bummed that both my girls have Celiac.  They’re good kids and I know we can manage this.  Maybe I’ll have Meghan write a few posts to give you her perspective.

 

Leave a Reply

