Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

Traveling and fun– all gluten free (almost!) February 3, 2012

Filed under: Everyday Living with Celiac Disease — Michelle @ 10:42 pm
Tags: , ,

For the last couple weeks I traveled to St. Petersburg, Florida and DC for work.  As I mentioned in my gluten free frustrations post, traveling can be difficult.  I did my homework-  identified gluten-free friendly restaurants using my GF Find Me app.  I also used Urbanspoon.com- great website!  In St. Petersburg, I highly recommend The Moon Under Water!!!  This place offers a great Indian cuisine– and, a fabulous gluten free menu!!!!!!!  Yummy!  It was such a great place, I went their twice- curry and then, Tikka Masala.  Great atmosphere and great experience!

However, I can’t say the same for lunch on my final day. I ate at  an organic cafe and had a GF wrap with salad.  I don’t know if it was food poisoning or if I got glutened, but I got horribly sick a couple hours after I ate. Yuck!

I had a great time in DC!  I was fortunate to have dinner with my closest college friends.  I didn’t get glutened in DC, that’s for sure!

But, I did get glutened last week while on my date with my hubby.  Sip Wine Tasting and Tapas Restaurant in Alpharetta is a great restaurant, except… they don’t factor in cross-contamination.  They advertise for a gluten free selection, and I must admit, it was a nice selection.  However, they have an open kitchen flor plan, and they was no consideration to cross contamination.  So, although they offer a variety of gluten free selections, the food is prepared in the same space, grills, and fryers as all the other menu items.  Boo!  😦  Needless to say, I was not feeling well that night.

This weekend is Superbowl Sunday!!!  Woohoo!!!!  I’m going to have a little party with some friends.  It’ll be a gluten free party- so stay tuned for the recipes!  I do plan on making some gluten free chicken wings!!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

