Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

Cruisin’ sans Gluten November 30, 2011

Last week I went on my first cruise– Norwegian Cruise Line to the Bahamas!!!!!  My husband and I took advantage of free airline tickets and flew to Miami to embark onto the Norwegian Sky.  Because food just has to be a necessity in life, of course, I thought about what my meal options will be on the cruise.  I was hoping for the best (a variety of options), but accepting to plain steam veggies.  To my surprise, the cruise line (well, the chef) was very accommodating!!! I was able to pre-order pretty much whatever I wanted on the menu, and the cooking staff would prepare it gluten free.  So during my stay, I ate great toast and English Muffins, pizza and even Chocolate birthday cake!!!!!

When we got off the Boat, even the restaurants we ate at were aware of gluten intolerance.  When I travel, I do prefer to eat local cuisine.  Having raw conch was WONDERFUL!  I wish I can remember the name of the restaurant in Freeport, Bahamas but I will credit them for fixing a fabulous fresh conch salad (loaded with chunks of conch)!!!!  I also had the luxury of drinking daiquiris from coconuts and pineapple!

The staff at Norwegian Sky were great and highly recommend my Celiac friends to go cruisin’ sans gluten!!!!

 

One Response to “Cruisin’ sans Gluten”

  1. hi, that’s a nice post. i hope you will continue to do this 🙂


Leave a Reply

