Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

GF Food for Thought- Lunchtime November 4, 2011

I’m hungry, so it must be lunch time.   What to do?  On some days, my co-workers want to go out to eat.   Sometimes, I bring in leftovers from home.  Sometimes, I just want to indulge on burger and fries!  Today, I brought my lunch to work– left over polenta and chicken from the night before- YUMMY!  For those on a gluten-free diet, what do you do? 

I’m never consistent with my choice of lunch each day.  I may run to the grocery store to grab a frozen entree (Amy’s brand rocks!).  If you have an iPhone or Droid, there are several gluten free apps that will tell you restuarants that have gluten free offerings in your general vicinity (via your GPS location).   I will say, this is a must have app!!!!!!  For those days when my co-workers want to go out, they turn to me and ask if (insert restaurant name) will work.  You can go on the Internet, but there’s nothing like saying, “I have an app for that!”

 

2 Responses to “GF Food for Thought- Lunchtime”

  1. Nadine Says:

    I really struggle with lunches more than anything. I’ve unfortunately never been a big green-salad-as-a-standalone-meal person. I can do it for a day or two, but after that I get so bored and hungry again in no time – even if I include protein like chicken or beans. I do love beans though, so I’d love an easy bean salad to make for lunches – any particular combinations that work? I was also thrilled that Amy’s started making gluten-free burritos – those burritos were my fallback lunch on many days and I’ve missed them since I stopped eating wheat. They’re a dollar more unfortunately, but worth it in a pinch and still cheaper than eating out.

    • Michelle Says:

      I do like a pasta and bean salad. I combine corn pasta, black beans, and garbanzo beans. I throw in some sun-dried tomatoes, drizzle some olive oil and oregano. I then add grated Asiago cheese. Yum!!!


Leave a Reply

