Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

Halloween and Children with Celiac Disease November 2, 2011

Halloween is the time of year when children can ask for sweet treats and get them so easily.  This has to be a heaven in a child’s world– coming home with a bag full of candies.  The first Halloween of my daughter going gluten free, was somewhat sad.  Kait repeatedly asking the questions,”Can I eat this?” and “Does this have gluten?”  Surprisingly, even a couple years later, she has not complained about the candies she cannot eat.  Fortunately, she has an older sister who truly understands Kait’s situation.  They exchange candies after their candy trick-treat excursion; Meg takes what Kait can’t eat and Kait takes the candy she can eat from Meg’s bag.  This system works well, or maybe my girls are just that sweet! (pun intended)

 

So, every year, the question is, what candies are gluten free?  So I found a rather comprehensive list.  This website has a good list,  http://whatisgluten.net/2011-gluten-free-candy-list/  .   However, I do question one item and that is the Hershey’s Drops-Plain & Cookies’N Cream.  I would be cautious with this.  And, in my world…when in doubt, don’t eat it.  I also would emphasize to always check the labels.  It is not uncommon for manufacturers to change their processes.

Word of caution– always keep the gluten free candies separate from the others, especially if you have children on a gluten-free diet.  There is always a chance children can take the wrong candy.  This is about the only time my house is not “gluten-free”, but since the candies are individually wrapped, I’m not as concern.

 

 

One Response to “Halloween and Children with Celiac Disease”

  1. An impressive share, I just given this kind of onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in actuality bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword which: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more with this topic. If possible, as you become know-how, would you mind updating your site with more details? It is highly ideal for me. Big thumb up just for this blog post!


Leave a Reply

