Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

Turner Field offers Gluten Free Baseball Food!!! June 18, 2011

One of my favorite things to do is go to baseball games.  I’ve been a Braves fan since I was a kid, and now that I live in the Atlanta area, I go to as many Braves games as I can!!!  Of course, the food and drink  of choice at baseball games are hot dogs and beer.  For many games, I had to always bring my own snacks and not enjoy the American pastime the same as everyone else.

Well, I can eat my hot dogs and  drink some beer at my Braves games!!!!  Woohoo!!!!!  In Section 112 at Turner Field, there is a Gluten-Free kiosk.  It sells hamburgers, grilled chicken sandwiches, hot gods, cookies, cupcakes, and of course BEER (Red Bridges).  Apparently it is rather popular.  When I went back to get another beer and hot dog during a rain delay in the 5th inning, there were no hot dogs left and they were in the process of getting more hot dog buns.   A local bakery that specializes in gluten free breads provide the hot dog rolls and sandwich buns for the concession at Turner Field.  The bread was very tasty and it passed my daughter’s taste test!  The only issue is that it does break apart easily for the hot dogs.    But, that really doesn’t matter to me.  I’m eating hot dogs and drinking beer at a baseball game!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

