Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

Sorry the long absence- I’m back with NEWS! June 14, 2011

It’s been a LONG while since I blogged here.  SORRY!!!  So updates…

I recently relocated to Atlanta, GA for a job.  That’s the biggest news from my end.  Eating here has been relatively easy so far.  It also helps that I now have a Droid and I have an app for finding gluten free restaurants.  But, my biggest find is the store in the Lavista Park area of Atlanta, Return to Eden.  It’s a gluten free PARADISE!!!!!!!  When you enter the store, there is a banner across the entrance that says, “Your Garden of Gluten Free Delight”  Once I first went there, I swear I heard the choirs of heaven sing down upon!!!!!

Also, my youngest daughter is also gluten intolerant and she is learning to manage the diet.  She’s 5 and the only challenge we have is when she’s in school.  Educating  her preschool teachers is ongoing.  Yes, she can’t touch that cereal, even though you are using it for a math lesson.  Yes, Play Doh has gluten.  It’s been a learning process.  She recently graduated from Pre-Kindergarten, so we will begin the battle again when she enters Kindergarten in the Fall.

On the home front, we bought a new house in the Cumming area.  It’s a commute for my husband and me since we both work in Atlanta.  However, the house is beautiful and I have an amazing kitchen to experiment with new recipes and create some dishes of my own.

I’m thinking about starting my own side business of preparing GF meals for others.  I had a taste (haha, pun intended) of it this past weekend.  Someone at work recently had death in the family.  Her coworkers wanted to provide meals for her, but she just started a GF diet to control her thyroid issues.  The coworkers tried various places to see if they can prepare GF meals.  Even Whole Foods said they were unable since they do not have a GF kitchen.  So, word spread that I eat GF and I cook, AND I have a GF kitchen. So, I guess I had my first customer!  The staff gave me some money and I prepared the following:

  • Lasagna
  • Chicken Parmigiana
  • Chicken Pot Pies
  • Pizza crust (I put together a pizza kit for her)
  • Peach Crisp
  • Pineapple Upside Down Cake
  • Loaf of Bread
  • Sugar cookies

Success!!!!!!!!  The food came out wonderfully!!!!!!!  If you want recipes, let me know.  I’m going to try to post them when I can. I’ll be glad to share!!!  On a side note, Holy Hannah is Xantham Gum expensive!

So, my next step is figuring out if I want to take on the challenge of starting this side business. I do believe there is a need, but I’m not sure if I want to devote the time, especially since I really can only cook during the evenings (if I’m not too tired) and on weekends.  I need to sleep on it for a little while

 

Leave a Reply

