Everyday Eating with Celiac Disease

Living with Celiac Disease

Thank you Betty Crocker! December 28, 2009

Filed under: Everyday Living with Celiac Disease — Michelle @ 3:48 am
Tags: , , , ,

Because Celiac Disease has become so prevalent, there is a market for gluten-free products.  And, Ms. Betty Crocker has jumped on it!  There are four Betty Crocker gluten-free products- Yellow Cake, Brownies, Devil’s Food Cake, and Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I’ve tried the Brownies and the Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I don’t normally but packaged mixes because of the added ingredients and higher sugar and fat content.  But, because I’m rather new in my diet, I decided to give it a shot.

Brownies

In preparing the mix, be warned that you may feel the need to add moisture!!  The package calls for 2 eggs and a half stick of melted butter to be stirred in the mix.  When I started to mix this, I was thinking I was making a mistake.  Even my husband said it didn’t look right- it appeared to need more moisture.  Determined to stick to the “recipe”, I continued to stir- don’t use a whisk and be prepared to build your upper arm muscles!  The mix did moisten with the eggs and butter, but it is very thick.  The results- DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!  I tasted just like any other brownie.  Instead of wheat flour, the ingredients include rice flour, potato starch, corn starch, and xanthan gum.  If I were to make this again, I’ll add walnuts!!  I was very surprise!!  Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate chip cookies are my favorite cookies.  Typically, I use the old-fashion Toll House recipe.  Although the Toll-House chocolate chips are themselves gluten-free, the recipe for the cookies is unfortunately not. 

In making these cookies, the batter has a consistency similar to what I typically make.  However, they do not keep their shape when you spoon them onto the cookie sheet.  Very frustrating…  This is probably due to the rice flour in the ingredients.  The end result– not as satisfying as the brownies.  the cookies are rather crumbly and the taste is not what I expected.  However, it is good alternative to those who are not the baking type and crave something cheap, easy, and sweet.  My youngest daughter rather enjoyed the cookies (the oldest child does not like sweets or chocolate), but my husband did not. Needless to say, I did not continue eating them.  This is not surprising since I, as with the rest of the family, do not have a sweet tooth and often throw away any sweets after a couple days- we satisfy any sweet craving we have and then we’re good for a while. 

Because the Betty Crocker Gluten-free version of chocolate chip cookies did not meet my expectations, I will have to experiment a homemade variety.

 

Leave a Reply

